guerillustrate

scratching the surface

hed2smal :(

with 2 comments



2009_0021, originally uploaded by guerillustrate.

Been looking at a LOT of painting lately. Been looking at a LOT of anatomy lately. Been looking at value even MORE than that!

I don’t want to get ahead of myself or let my head get too big. But I feel like I am making just GARGANTUAN steps forward in my art skill. The funny thing is that I’m not really drawing or painting that much. I’m just STUDYING. I’m just looking closely at other people’s stuff over and over and over and over until my eyeballs hurt. Then when I finally sit down with some paper or a blank screen, it all just comes out.

I’m telling you, 85% of what you need to do to learn art has absolutely nothing to do with your hands. It goes like this:

60% looking at art and real life objects and studying what you see
25% being able to recall and mentally visualize all those things you’ve studied
10% drawing
5% painting

And of that 60% of time you should spend looking, here’s what you should be looking at:

1. composition
2. perspective
3. tonal value
4. silhouette, shape, form
5. ANATOMY
6. line and contour
7. the differing effect of light on matte and glossy surfaces
8. colour
9. texture and fine detail
10. style

I have listed these things from BIG to SMALL, because you should be painting them in that order. And in a sense that’s the order of importance you should place on them too. If you can master the first 5 you should be able to paint something masterful to at LEAST 50% completion. If you master the last 5, you can probably render some nice textures and patterns, but everything you try to paint will look like garbage.

Don’t get me wrong. I haven’t mastered ANY of them. But I see their importance in relative terms. You must master ALL of them to be a great artist, but you can’t focus on the bells and whistles without knowing the basics.

That’s how I see it anyway. Take it or leave it.

Written by zee

November 20, 2009 at 11:03 am

Posted in Uncategorized

2 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. funny thing is, now that I look at it, the head being too small isn’t even the biggest problem. It’s the ganked leg on the left side of the image that’s the biggest issue. The kneecap has fallen down! ;(

    Brutal.

    But that’s what you get for 35 minutes.

    ZEE

    November 20, 2009 at 11:06 am

  2. Wish this blog came back to life, guys. It was nice seeing you battle it out with the sketches.

    Spencer

    November 21, 2010 at 2:22 am


Leave a Reply

